Home > News


Womens National News

2011 Senior Women's and U25 Women's National Team Selection Camp

Vancouver's Janet McLachlan will be amongst the 28 women competing for a spot on Canada's 2011 Sr. National Team

(Winnipeg, MB) The top Canadian female wheelchair basketball players will be in Winnipeg, MB for the Senior Women’s and U25 Women’s National Team selection camp January 10th to 16th, 2011.The selection camp, being held in conjunction with the Canadian Sport Centre Manitoba, will help determine which athletes will represent Canada at a number of marquee international events in 2011.

“The Canadian Sport Centre Manitoba is excited to have the opportunity to host the Wheelchair Basketball teams in Winnipeg and assist in their training. We wish them luck in their continued training in preparation for the 2012 Paralympic Games in London,” said Randy Anderson, General Manager of the Canadian Sport Centre Manitoba.

The Senior Women’s National Team is amongst the most successful and dominant teams in Canadian amateur sport history.  The team has captured three Paralympic gold medals and has reached the podium at six consecutive World Championships. The players selected for this year’s team will represent Canada at the 2011 Parapan American Games in Guadalajara, Mexico, which is the qualification tournament for the 2012 Paralympic Games in London, England.

The U25 Women’s National Team will look to be victorious on home soil at the inaugural 2011 Women’s U25 World Wheelchair Basketball Championships.  The event is the first-ever World Championships for this age group and is set for July 15-21, 2011 at Brock University in St. Catharines, Ontario.

The 28 athletes attending Selection Camp are:

Abby Stubbert – (Halifax, NS)

Allarisa Haak – (Edmonton, AB)

Ashley Baerg (Dalmeny, SK)

Chantelle Horel (Winnipeg, MB)

Chantelle Low (Brampton, ON)

Cindy Ouellett (Quebec, QC)

Claire Smith (London, ON)

Corin Metzger (Elmira, ON)

Cory Harrower (Regina, SK)

Elaine Allard (St. Eustache, QC)

Elisha Williams (Burnaby, BC)

Frances Miller (Edmonton, AB)

Gabby Roberts-Winter (Regina, SK)

Helaina Cyr (Edmonton, AB)

Jamey Jewells (Donkin, NS)

Janet Mclachlan (Vancouver, BC)

Jessica Vliegenthart (Victoria, BC)

Karine Chicoine (Montreal, QC)

Kasey Holberton (Calgary, AB)

Katie Harnock (Elmira, ON)

Kendra Ohama (Calgary, AB)

Mackenzie Doll (Camrose, AB)

Maude Jacques (Sainte-Catherine, QC)

Nancy Lafleche (Vancouver, BC)

Steph Park (Maple Ridge, BC)

Tamara Steeves (Missaussauga, ON)

Tara Feser (St. Albert, AB)

Tracey Ferguson (Holland Landing, ON)

About the Canadian Sport Centre Manitoba

The Canadian Sport Centre Manitoba works with the High Performance Athletes training in the province and across Canada. Through the services provided, the CSCM helps athletes to reach their potential and achieve podium performances.