Home > News


Mens National News

2011 Men's National Team Named

 Patrick Anderson is one of nine players who won silver at the 2008 Beijing Paralympics to be named to Canada's 2011 Team

(Ottawa, ON) – Wheelchair Basketball Canada is pleased to announce the names of the 12 athletes who will represent Canada at the 2011 Parapan American Games slotted for November 12-20, 2011 in Guadalajara, Mexico.  The Parapan American Games double as Canada’s opportunity to qualify for the 2012 London Paralympics, where the team is shooting for a fourth consecutive podium finish.

“A lot of hard work and sacrifice went into the preparation and execution of this year's selection camp from both the players and coaches perspective. I look forward to qualifying for the 2012 London Paralympics with a solid performance at this year's ParaPanAmerican Games in Guadalajara, Mexico later in November. Our quest for another gold medal finish begins anew,” said Team Canada Men’s head coach Jerry Tonello.

Canada is thrilled to welcome back a number of familiar faces including nine athletes that were members of the team that won a silver medal at the 2008 Paralympics in Beijing, China.

The Men’s National Wheelchair Basketball Team was announced following completion of a week-long selection camp in Toronto, ON.

The Men’s National Wheelchair Basketball Team consists of:

Abdi Dini (Scarborough, ON)
Adam Lancia (Toronto, ON)
Brandon Wagner (Burlington, ON)
Chad Jassman (Calgary, AB)
Dave Durepos (Fredericton, NB)
David Eng (Montreal, QC)
Joey Johnson (Lorette, MB)
Mickael Poulin (Quebec, QC)
Pat Anderson (New York, NY)
Richard Peter (Vancouver, BC)
Robert Hedges (Wonowon, BC)
Yvon Rouillard (Montreal, QC)

Head Coach: Jerry Tonello (Toronto, ON)

The Senior Men’s National Team are the defending silver medallists from the 2008 Beijing Paralympic Games. They won back-to-back Paralympic gold medals in 2000 and 2004 and have reached the podium at five of the last six consecutive World Championships dating back to 1990.